Thursday, October 24, 2013

Perilous Light (The Afterglow Trilogy #2) - Alyssa Rose Ivy

Perilous Light is the second book in a YA series about a seemingly normal American family whose members are something a little more special in a parallel universe.

Charlotte and Kevin are siblings who live with their uncle Monty in the old family house. In the first book, Charlotte goes through a forbidden gate in the backyard and finds herself in Energo, a magic land. There, she meets Calvin, the love of her life -- it's literally painful for her to be parted from him -- and discovers she's a member of the ruling family.

As this book opens, a little over a year has passed. Charlotte and Kevin are both back in North Carolina; Kevin is playing college basketball and Charlotte is settling into high school, but she still misses Calvin terribly. Needless to say, another trip through the garden gate is in the offing, and this time the siblings and their friends find themselves in the midst of a battle for control of the kingdom. And it's entirely possible that Charlotte and Kevin's mother isn't dead, as they had been led to believe.

If you're the kind of reader who hates to start a series and then find out you have to wait for the ending, you'll be glad to know that the third book, Enduring Light, is also available.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.